Free Program:


Story Time at the J (for ages 0-4 years old) alternates with Baby Lap Time (for pre-walking babies, age newborn-14 months). Baby Lap Time usually meets on the first Sunday of the month and Story Time at the J usually meets on the third Sunday of the month. See below for program descriptions. 

Schedule for 2015-2016:

Sunday, October 18: Story Time at the J
Sunday, October 25: The Great Children's Read
Sunday, November 1: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, November 8: No programs
Sunday, November 15: Story Time at the J
Sunday, November 22 and 29: No programs (Thanksgiving)
Sunday, December 6: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, December 13: DCJCC Hanukkah Party
Sunday, December 20: Story Time at the J
Sunday, December 27 and January 3: No programs (Winter Break)
Sunday, January 10: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, January 17: No programs (Martin Luther King Day weekend)
Sunday, January 24: Story Time at the J
Sunday, January 31: No programs
Sunday, February 7: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, February 14: No programs (Presidents Day weekend)
Sunday, February 21:Story Time at the J
Sunday, February 28: No programs
Sunday, March 6: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, March 13: No programs
Sunday, March 20: DCJCC Purim Carnival
Sunday, March 27: Story Time at the J
Sunday, April 3: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, April 10: No programs
Sunday, April 17:Story Time at the J
Sunday, April 24: No programs (Passover)
Sunday, May 1: Baby Lap Time
Sunday, May 8: No programs
Sunday, May 15:
Story Time at the J

These programs begin at 10:00am and meet in the Etzim Room (Preschool classroom 5, 2nd floor).  These programs are FREE, with no reservation required, but attendance is limited to the first 20 children.  All children must be accompanied by caregivers at all time. 

BABY LAP TIME (pre-walking babies, age newborn-14 months)

Snuggle and bond with your new baby as we sing, tickle, kiss, and bounce our way into a lifelong love of language and reading! You’ll learn new rhymes and songs to sing with your baby, be introduced to developmentally appropriate read-aloud books, and join your baby in cooperative group play!   

STORY TIME AT THE J (ages 0-4 years old)
Join us at the J for a weekly free story hour and playtime!  From 10-10:30, enjoy free play in our preschool space, then gather on the carpet from 10:30-11 for stories and songs led by a DCJCC Preschool teacher. 

Please contact Miriam Szubin, at with any questions about these programs.

Follow the DCJCC on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date on all our programs and events!


Miriam Szubin
Parenting Center Director
p. (202) 777-3263
f. (202) 518-9420